This Is A Test; This Is Only A Test

Posted by

But, of course, there is a test at the end.  Read the lines below aloud, preferably to someone else, who will then return the favor. (The lines are meant to weave a wave up and down the left margins of the page, but the Blog does not allow for “unjustified” lines, all lines must be saved apparently.  The wave shape of the lines is part of the poem which you may hear anyway as you read aloud.)

If someone finds me on the road

If someone finds me on the road

in my nightgown, barefoot and talking

 

in my nightgown, barefoot and talking

If my talking nightgown

finds the road in me

and someone on barefoot

 

Or I’m throwing my money to the cars

Or I’m throwing my money to the cars

convinced I’m just feeding the ducks

 

convinced I’m just feeding the ducks

I’m feeding the money,

the cars, or the ducks,

I’m just convinced to throwing

 

Please lock me away

Please lock me away

and live your life

 

and live your life

and lock your life away

Please live me

 

If my talking convinced someone,

my barefoot lock on the road,

ducks in the car throwing money to live

 

and the feeding finds me

and I’m me

or I’m your life

please just nightgown away

 

So, is this a poem?  Is it something else?  Does it make you think of anything?  How does it make you feel?  What’s happening in the poem?  Anything?  Who’s there?  If you think this is a poem, is it a good one?  How can you tell?

Don’t answer those questions or any others you may have too quickly.  Read the poem aloud again.  Or don’t, for that’s ok, too.

There’s no reason you have to read this poem or any other, and certainly no reason you should read it again, unless it attracts you or itches you somehow.

If you decide to live a little longer with this poem you can add to your reading listening to the author, Brendan Constantine, read this poem himself at:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mplyVOXWwfM .  The poem is the title poem of a recent collection of poems by Constantine, “Dementia, My Darling”, and Constantine notes it is a  poem made from lines spoken by my mother.

Does that help to know?  Or does knowing that reduce the poem for you?

Did you read the poem aloud once again?  Did you try to sound like Constantine?  Whose poem is it?  Did you pass?

 

Leave a Reply

